Huckleberry Update

HuckRoadTrip
Huck2huck surgery
Wow, a lot has happened in the last 2 weeks! I went in for my hip replacement on March 2. The surgery went great! When Dr. Murphy called my foster mom to update her, he said, “Huck’s doing great, almost too great. He doesn’t know or act like he just had a major surgery.”

I was so excited to see my foster mom when she came to get me that I wiggled and whined in the waiting room. We made our way out to the car and headed home. As I walked into the house I was greeted with lots of gentle kisses from my foster brothers and sister. I think they understood what I had just been through. Once home, I slept for about 48 hours straight.

The first week was a breeze. Although, I don’t understand why I always have to have that red leash hooked up to me when I go outside. Doesn’t she see it holds me back from running and playing?!?!

Tuesday we went on a road trip back to Anderson’s corner for my first check-up. As we pulled up to the vet I started getting excited, because I knew I had so many friends inside. Well the excitement continued inside and I put on quite a show while waiting to be called back for my exam. Several people had seen my story and were thrilled to see I was doing so good…..again, almost too good. I felt like I was a celebrity!!!

Dr. Murphy checked me out and said everything looked perfect. I was healing as planned! With all the good news I don’t understand why he told my foster mom that I still have several weeks of exercise restriction (whatever that is?), and have to have that little red leash anytime I go outside. What a bummer!!! Dr. Murphy obviously doesn’t understand that there are squirrels that are trying to invade our backyard and I need to help the others protect the fence line!!

I go back in once a week for the next month and will update you on my progress! Thanks again for any donations that will help fund my expensive surgery.

Huck

Leave a Reply

